CORONAVIRUS: What we're doing to protect our customers and employees Learn More  

The Bank of Carbondale

2020 Community Scholarship Recipients Named

The Bank of Carbondale awarded $10,000 in scholarships this year through their Community Scholarship Program. Ten graduating seniors will each receive a $1,000 scholarship to assist with their college expenses. 

The 2020 scholarship recipients are: Gabriela Benyas, Kylee Korando, Alexandria Moore, Miguel Silva and John Paul Taylor from Carbondale Community High School; Bryce Clover, Annie Kennedy and John Wachtel from Murphysboro High School; Alaina Reno from Carterville High School; Emma Funk from Elverado High School.

“We want to express our congratulations and best wishes to the 2020 scholarship recipients." said Robert Bleyer, President of The Bank of Carbondale. “We are proud to help support our local students achieve their educational goals."

The Bank of Carbondale's Community Scholarship Program was created in November 2001. Graduating seniors from Carbondale Community High School, Carterville High School, Murphysboro High School, and Elverado High School are eligible to apply. Scholarships are awarded based on a student's academic excellence, extracurricular activities, and community involvement. Since the program's inception, The Bank of Carbondale has awarded $400,000 in scholarships to local high school students.

For more information regarding The Bank of Carbondale's Community Scholarship Program, please contact Elizabeth Berumen, Marketing Director, at (618) 549-2181. The Bank of Carbondale is a locally owned and operated community bank, with banking centers in Carbondale, Carterville, Murphysboro, and Vergennes.

– June 29, 2020
Your Hometown Friend
216 East Main Street
P.O. Box 2287
Carbondale, IL 62902-2287
(618) 549-2181